Martin-Baker Award

Martin-Baker Award

The award honors two respected teachers of mycology, both of whom had long and distinguished careers in mycology, and both of whom have faithfully served the Mycological Society of America in several capacities.
It is awarded to a Ph.D. mycologist within the first ten years of their appointment as a faculty member, for the support of new or ongoing research.

George W. Martin (b. 1886- d. 1971) (M.S. Rutgers University, 1915; Ph.D. University of Chicago, 1922) was associated with the Botany Department of the University of Iowa (Iowa City) from 1923 until his death in 1971. He served there as Professor, Head of the Department (1953 to 1955), and Emeritus Professor. After retirement in 1955 he was Visiting Professor for two years at the University of Illinois (Urbana), but then returned to the University of Iowa. Dr. Martin was world-reknown for his phylogenetic concepts of the fungi and related organisms and for his authoritative research and taxonomic treatments of the Myxomycetes and the Tremellales. He served as an officer of various scientific societies, was President of the Mycological Society of America (1944), was Editor-In-Chief of Mycologia (1950-1957), and was among the initial group honored by the Botanical Society of America with a Certificate of Merit (1956). In 1970 he received the Henry Allan Gleason Award from the New York Botanic Garden. Dr. Martin’s infectious enthusiasm in teaching and research inspired students and colleagues alike. Of the 47 or more students who have received graduate degrees under his direction, at least 30 have achieved their doctorates. As his students will undoubtedly attest, Dr. Martin was a scholar who remained a man of learning, generosity, culture and a good friend.

Gladys E. Baker (M.S. University of Iowa, 1932; Ph.D. Washington University, St. Louis, 1935) taught at Vassar College from 1941 to 1961, and served 13 years as Chair of the Plant Science Department where she directed 3 graduate students. She offered the first course in medical mycology at seven women’s colleges. She is a charter member of the Medical Mycological Society of the Americas and a fellow of A.A.A.S. From 1961 to 1973 she taught at the University of Hawaii, Manoa. There she supervised 13 graduate students for advanced degrees in both general and medical mycology. Students remember her as an effective and enthusiastic teacher, a scientist with the highest integrity, and a warm and caring friend. Fellow mycologists still admire her memorable work; the 21 illustrated plates in MacBride & Martin, THE MYXOMYCETES (1934): the Antarctic Lichens (1938) with C.W. Dodge; the nuclear behavior and monographic studies of the genus Helicogloea; and the cytology and ecology of microfungi.

The Award:
As an underlying philosophy, the initiators of this fund required that all of the following criteria be fulfilled for the fund to be awarded: 1) meaningful research conducted by an individual in a small department, who, because of heavy teaching schedules, may find it difficult to attract major grant support 2) a recent (within the past ten years) PhD mycologist and 3) research in areas of expertise related to the works of Drs. Martin and Baker and which includes a field component. Recipient must have teaching responsibilities and be members of the MSA. Grants should not be given for indirect costs, but should be applied directly to research needs. Funds are not to be awarded for travel to meetings, although research-related travel may be supported, if adequately justified. This award is made directly to the individual and is not an institutional award. Recipients of grant awards are expected to submit to the MSA Research Awards Committee a report of their use of grant funds and the results of their research efforts. The latter may be in the form of a reprint of a published work.

Award Amount: $2500

Application deadline: February 15, annually

Documents required:

  1. Cover letter
  2. Curriculum vita, with publication list and alternative support sources
  3. Research proposal not to exceed three single-spaced pages including references and a proposed budget.

Apply to: Send all items listed above in a single electronic file, preferably in pdf format, to the Chair of the MSA Research Awards Committee

. A CD with the PDF file and a hard copy of the application would be appreciated as they may be useful in case there are problems with the electronic file. The application will be considered to have arrived once all electronic files have been received in working order by the Chair.

Martin-Baker Research Award
2015 Allison Walker
2013 Carrie Andrew
2012 Jaime E. Blair
2011 Peter Kennedy
2010 Adam Rollins
2009 Thomas de la Cruz
2008 Peter Avis
2007 Gabor M. Kovacs
2006 Elizabeth M. Frieders
2005 Merlin M. White
2004 P. Brandon Matheny
2003 Kelly Ivors
2002 Joshua Herr
2001 Omoanghe S. Isikhuemhen
2000 Wendy Untereiner
1999 David Geiser
1998 Chee-Jen Chen
1997 Joseph Spatafora
1996 Cathy Cripps
David Hibbett
1994 Sabine Huhndorf