Distinguished Mycologist Award

Distinguished Mycologist Award

Application Deadline: February 1st before midnight, Pacific Time.

The Distinguished Mycologist Award is awarded annually to an individual who has established an outstanding mycological career. This is one of the

2023 Distinguished Mycologist Awardee, Dennis Desjardin

highest awards bestowed by the MSA and marks a distinguished career. Nominees for the award are evaluated on the basis of quality, originality, and quantity of their published research, and on the basis of service to the MSA or to the field of mycology in general. 

The Distinguished Mycologist Award is administered by the MSA Distinctions Committee

To view all other awards offered by the Mycological Society of America, see the MSA Awards Chart. 

Award Requirements

  1. The nominee must be a current member of MSA or eligible for emeritus membership.
  2. The nominee must have received his or her terminal degree at least twenty years prior to January 1 of the year in which the award is given. There is no requirement for a minimum age or impending or actual retirement. Honorary degrees shall not be considered in determining the time interval.
  3. An individual may receive the Distinguished Mycologist Award only once.
  4. Self-nomination is not allowed.
  5. Nominators must be members of the MSA.
  6. Nominees who are not chosen for the award in the year in which they are nominated will be reconsidered for up to two additional years. The committee chairperson will request updates of the nominee’s materials.

Documents Required

The nomination package should contain:

  1. A nominating letter, including a detailed evaluation of the nominee’s outstanding contributions to mycology
  2. A current curriculum vitae, including a list of the nominee’s publications
  3. Up to five additional letters of support

To Apply

The nominator should prepare a single electronic file, preferably in PDF format, containing all of the items listed above and email it as an attachment to: msafungi@reesgroupinc.com with a subject heading of “Distinguished Mycologist Award”.

Note: Presentation of the award, a plaque, will take place at the awards ceremony during the annual meeting of the MSA. The recipient will be notified in time to plan to attend the presentation. The name of the winner of the award will be published in the annual meeting program and in Inoculum. A biography may be requested and published in Inoculum as well. 

Diversity Statement

The MSA encourages and welcomes nominations of all individuals regardless of race and ethnicity, country of origin, sex, gender identity, religion, age, education level, socioeconomic status, marital status, parental status, physical ability, neurological differences, political affiliation, and sexual orientation. See the full MSA Diversity Statement.

See a list of past MSA Distinguished Mycologist Awardees